Engineering | Fulton Schools Student Organizations

Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

, ,
Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

Women in Computer Science (WiCS) is an organization dedicated to promoting diversity in engineering, particularly females in computing. WiCS acts as a support network and resource for women in technology by providing many social, academic, professional development, community outreach, and networking opportunities. Throughout the year, WiCS organizes visits to schools (K-12) to introduce young girls to Computer Science while providing an opportunity for current students to share their knowledge and experiences in Computer Science. During the Fall, WiCS manages the ASU Grace Hopper Scholarship, the awardees and other ASU attendees of the annual Grace Hopper Celebration, the largest conference of women technologists in the world. During the Spring, WiCS holds ASU’s largest and most successful programming competition.

Mission Statement: Women in Computer Science is a student organization at ASU which acts as a support network and resource for female and other minority students in technology.

Vision Statement: To increase diversity in technology in order to drive innovation.

Learn more:

Leadership:

Position Student/Faculty Name Email 
President Rachel Knoche rknoche@asu.edu
Vice President Shivaani Methuku smethuk1@asu.edu
Vice President of Industry Relations Sagarika Pannase spannase@gmail.com
Vice President of Outreach Gaby Villate gvillate@asu.edu
Historian Q’Mariah Lewis qplewis@asu.edu
Treasurer Yusra Hashmi yhashmi@asu.edu
Professional Development Director Froila Souza fdsouza@asu.edu
Marketing Director Meera Benson meera.benson@asu.edu
GHC Coordinator Diana Chen dkchen1@asu.edu
Vice President of External Affairs Shuchi Sharam sshar118@asu.edu
Social Coordinator Nichole Emmons bemmons1@asu.edu
Co-Treasurer/Logistics Bailey Garner Bailey.Garner@asu.edu
Programming Competition Director Julia Liu jbliu1@asu.edu
Programming Competition Director Shirley Ruan sruan6@asu.edu
Advisor Mutsumi Nakamura nakamura@asu.edu
Advisor Faye Navabi navabi@asu.edu
Skills

Posted on

August 7, 2015