Engineering | Fulton Schools Student Organizations

Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

, ,
Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

Women in Computer Science (WiCS) is an organization dedicated to promoting diversity in engineering, particularly females in computing. WiCS acts as a support network and resource for women in technology by providing many social, academic, professional development, community outreach, and networking opportunities. Throughout the year, WiCS organizes visits to schools (K-12) to introduce young girls to Computer Science while providing an opportunity for current students to share their knowledge and experiences in Computer Science. During the Fall, WiCS manages the ASU Grace Hopper Scholarship, the awardees and other ASU attendees of the annual Grace Hopper Celebration, the largest conference of women technologists in the world. During the Spring, WiCS holds ASU’s largest and most successful programming competition.

Mission Statement: Women in Computer Science is a student organization at ASU which acts as a support network and resource for female and other minority students in technology.

Vision Statement: To increase diversity in technology in order to drive innovation.

Learn more:

Leadership:

Position Student/Faculty Name Email
President Rachel Knoche  wics.asu+president@gmail.com
Vice President of Industry  Sagarika Pannase  wics.asu+industry@gmail.com
Vice President of Internal Affairs  Sanjana Badam  wics.asu@gmail.com
Vice President of External Affairs: Web Master/GHC Coordinator Diana Chen diana.k.chen@asu.edu
Vice President of Outreach  Gaby Villate  wics.asu+outreach@gmail.com
Treasurer  Yusra Hashmi Yusra.Hashmi@asu.edu
Co-Treasurer/Logistics  Bailey Garner  bailey.garner@asu.edu
Marketing Director  Meera Benson  wics.asu+marketing@gmail.com
Professional Development Director Anisha Gupta  wics.asu@gmail.com
Programming Competition Director Bineeta Gupta  wics.asu+progcomp@gmail.com
Historian Q’Mariah Lewis  wics.asu@gmail.com
Advisor  Mutsumi Nakamura  mutsumi.nakamura@asu.edu
Advisor  Farideh Tadayon-Navabi navabi@asu.edu

 

Skills

Posted on

August 7, 2015