Report an accessibility problem

Engineering | Fulton Schools Student Organizations

Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

, ,

Women in Computer Science (WiCS) is an organization dedicated to promoting diversity in engineering, particularly females in computing. WiCS acts as a support network and resource for women in technology by providing many social, academic, professional development, community outreach, and networking opportunities. Throughout the year, WiCS organizes visits to schools (K-12) to introduce young girls to Computer Science while providing an opportunity for current students to share their knowledge and experiences in Computer Science. During the Fall, WiCS manages the ASU Grace Hopper Scholarship, the awardees and other ASU attendees of the annual Grace Hopper Celebration, the largest conference of women technologists in the world. During the Spring, WiCS holds ASU’s largest and most successful programming competition.

Mission Statement: Women in Computer Science is a student organization at ASU which acts as a support network and resource for female and other minority students in technology.

Vision Statement: To increase diversity in technology in order to drive innovation.

Learn more:

Leadership:

Position Student/Faculty Name Email 
President Unique Ratliff uratliff@asu.edu
Vice President Shivaani Methuku smethuk1@asu.edu
Vice President of Industry Relations Cynthia Castro ccastr13@asu.edu
Vice President of Academic Relations Travis Lo tjlo1@asu.edu
Vice President of Outreach Maria Ananickal mananick@asu.edu
Vice President of External Affairs Sarah Martin sarahliz@asu.edu 
Vice President of Internal Affairs Shivaani Methuku smethuk1@asu.edu
Webmaster and VP of Outreach Unique Ratliff uratliff@asu.edu
Vice President of Industry Affairs Bailey Garner bwgarne1@asu.edu
Historian Sonia Valdez svalde14@asu.edu
Historian Pooja Patel phpatel3@asu.edu
Historian Alexandra Plukis aplukis@asu.edu
Treasurer Chloe Janko cjanko1@asu.edu
Logistics Director Chloe Janko cjanko1@asu.edu
Professional Development Director Diep Tran dntran7@asu.edu
Professional Development Director Julia Liu jbliu1@asu.edu
Marketing Director Meera Benson meera.benson@asu.edu
Marketing and Webmaster Sonia Valdez svalde14@asu.edu
GHC Coordinator Diana Chen dkchen1@asu.edu
Social Coordinator Nichole Emmons bemmons1@asu.edu
Co-Treasurer/Logistics Bailey Garner Bailey.Garner@asu.edu
Programming Competition Director Julia Liu jbliu1@asu.edu
Programming Competition Director Shirley Ruan sruan6@asu.edu
Grace Hopper Director Gaby Villate gvillate@asu.edu 
Advisor Mutsumi Nakamura nakamura@asu.edu
Advisor Faye Navabi navabi@asu.edu
Skills

Posted on

August 7, 2015